About Burt


Western Australia gains an additional seat for the 2016 Federal Election - the Division of Burt.

The Division of Burt is an outer metropolitan seat located either side of the southern end of the Tonkin Highway surrounded by the Divisions of Brand, Canning, Fremantle, Hasluck, Swan and Tangney. The Canning River forms the north eastern boundary. See map at bottom of page.

The following areas are in Division of Burt:

  • in the City of Armadale, the localities of Armadale, Brookdale, Camillo, Champion Lakes, Forrestdale, Harrisdale, Haynes, Hilbert, Kelmscott, Mount Nasura, Piara Waters and Seville Grove as well as Wungong on the western side of the South Western Highway;
  • in the City of Gosnells, the localities of Gosnells, Canning Vale, Huntingdale, Langford, Southern River and Thornlie;
  • in the City of Canning, the locality of Canning Vale. 


Largely residential, the Division of Burt also includes light industry, commercial, medical and retail trade, construction and manufacturing.


The name of Burt for the proposed new Division honours succeeding generations of the Burt family for their significant contributions to the justice system and for their wider contributions to public service, specifically:

  • Sir Archibald Burt (1810–1879), first Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Western Australia,
  • Septimus Burt (1847–1919), whose public roles included that of Attorney-General of Western Australia at the time of colonial self-government, and
  • Sir Francis Burt (1918–2004), who served as a judge of the Supreme Court of Western Australia, Chief Justice of Western Australia, and Governor of Western Australia from 1990 until 1993.


A detailed map of the electorate is available via the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC), as well as the interactive map below.


We'll put people first.

Leave this empty: